Loop Chicago


How to cast your ballot in the April 7th election

Polls for the April 7th mayoral election are open! There are plenty of ways for you to cast your vote. Don't miss your chance to have a say in the future of Chicago.

Early Voting

The April 7th election is scheduled during Spring Break for many families so it's important to vote in advance. There are three early voting locations in downtown Chicago, listed below. You can view the entire list of 51 early voting locations in Chicago here.

Access Living
115 W. Chicago Ave.

Chicago Board of Elections
69 W. Washington St., Lower Level Conference Room

Museum of Broadcast Communications
360 N. State St.

All sites are open through April 4: Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m.- 5 p.m.; Sunday, March 29, 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.

You may also fill out this online application from home and an absentee ballot will arrive at your doorstep. The deadline to request a ballot by mail is Thursday, April 2 at 5 p.m.

Voting on April 7

On Election Day, April 7, a voter may cast a ballot only at the polling place assigned to that voter's registration precinct. Hours are 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Find your polling place here.

Check Your Registration Status

Use the Lookup Tool on the official website of the Chicago Board of Election Commissioners to check your registration status, locate a polling place, obtain a sample ballot, and more.

Grace Period Registration & Voting

Not registered? That's alright! Through April 4, voters may register to vote for the first time, update their addresses, or file a name change during the "Grace Period" at any of the locations listed here, regardless of the voters' home wards. During the "Grace Period," you must register in person using an acceptable form of identification and then immediately vote during that same visit.

Please note: By state law, Election Day Registration will not be offered at this election. Saturday, April 4 will be the last day to use in-person registration to register or update a record through the Grace Period program.

(Photo: clio1789 / Flickr; Information: Chicago Board of Election Commissioners)

comments powered by Disqus